Scholarships - Historical Background

(Click Here to View List of Winners)

Charles P. Blankenship Engineering Scholarship
Established by Charles P. Blankenship Jr., a 1988 alumna of metallurgical engineering, and Belinda C. Blankenship, this scholarship is named in honor of Charles Blankenship Sr., who received B.S. and M.S. degrees at Virginia Tech in 1960 and 1961, respectively. Awarded to MSE rising seniors accepted into the Accelerated Undergraduate/Graduate program in the MSE department
Dr. Gary S. Clevinger Sr. Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Dr. Gary S. Clevinger Sr. earned three degrees in materials science and engineering at Virginia Tech in the 1970s. He was an energetic student, lettering in track, performing in the University band, and taking on a leadership role in the Cotillion Club. He was also active in community affairs. Following graduation, Dr. Clevinger began his career with Babcock and Wilcox. Sadly, he passed away in 1991. In his memory, Dr. Clevinger's family established a scholarship in 1998 designed to benefit graduate students pursuing materials-related disciplines who also received a B.S. in materials from Virginia Tech. Students are selected based on "scholastic achievement, good character, and demonstrated leadership potential."
William M. "Marshall" Ervine Endowed Scholarship for MSE
William Marshall Ervine (1969) received a B.S. degree in metallurgical engineering in 1969. He created this scholarship in 2016 to give back to his alma mater and provide expanded opportunities for future MSE students.
Ronald S. Gordon
Established by Dr. and Mrs. Ronald S. Gordon for students pursuing materials science and Engineering. Dr. Gordon, who served as the MSE department head from 1989 to 1999, was an advocate, friend, and mentor to faculty, staff, and students.
H.H. Harris Foundation
Created to provide scholarships and other forms of educational assistance to students in metallurgical and metalcasting fields. Nationally competitive award administered in conjunction with the American Foundry Society.
Alfred E. Knobler 
Alfred “Alf” Knobler was a 1938 graduate of ceramic engineering and lifelong activist for social justice. He was inducted into the Academy of Engineering Excellence in 2000. He was the CEO of Pilgrim Glass, and he served on the MSE Advisory Board for many years. This scholarship is intended for undergraduates majoring in MSE, and selection is based on academic achievement, personal character, leadership achievements, and community service.
John H. Kroehling
Established in 1995 by John H. Kroehling, a 1948 ceramic engineering graduate of Virginia Tech. Kroehling was a 2004 inductee into the Academy of Engineering Excellence and a longtime member of the MSE Advisory Board. Besides setting up scholarships for the MSE and Statistics departments, John and his wife Joan provided a substantial gift for the construction of the Kroehling Advanced Materials Foundry (VT-FIRE), completed in 2010.
Thomas L. Leivesley Jr.
Thomas Leivesley graduated from Virginia Tech in 1945 with a degree in electrical engineering. In 1950, he earned a degree in industrial engineering. As a student, he spent two years in the Corps of Cadets, and during summer active duty while at Virginia Tech, Leivesley flew P-47 Thunderbolts during World War II.  In 1949, Mr. Leivesley joined the Davis H. Elliot Company, an electrical contracting company located in Roanoke, Virginia, as one of their earliest employees. He made significant contributions to the growth and development of the company, retiring in 1993 as Vice President and Director. In 1994, Mr. Leivesley donated funds to establish this scholarship for students in the College of Engineering.
William McAllister Leadership Scholarship
Created in 1999 to be awarded to first-year engineering majors based on academic merit and demonstrated leadership ability.  Bill McAllister is a 2005 Academy of Engineering Excellence Inductee. He completed a B.S. in 1965 in Engineering Mechanics. During his years at Virginia Tech, McAllister discovered his propensity for leadership roles through his involvement with the Cotillion Club and through serving on the Corps of Cadets regimental staff. Following graduation, he went on to create a company that grew into one of the top 40 mechanical contractors in the country.
NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program
The NSF GRFP, established in 1951, recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported STEM disciplines pursuing research-based M.S. and Ph.D. degrees at accredited U.S. institutions. This five-year fellowship includes three years of financial support, an annual stipend of $34,000, and a cost-of-education allowance of $12,000 to the institution.
Pratt Endowment
In 1975, the university received a significant bequest from the estate of Mr. John Lee Pratt of Stafford County, following his death on December 20, 1975. The bequest was equally divided to support Animal Nutrition (AN) and to support the College of Engineering.  In the COE, Pratt Funds allow the college to invest resources in three research areas: biomedical engineering, microelectronics, and energy and advanced vehicles.
Over the years, Pratt funds have supported undergraduate scholarships, undergraduate and graduate study abroad scholarships, graduate research assistantships, graduate fellowships and tuition scholarships.
Gilbert and Lucille Seay
Established in honor of Gilbert Seay, a former partner of Hayes, Seay, Mattern, and Mattern. Seay was a 1934 Electrical Engineering graduate. Awarded to an engineering junior or senior on the basis of merit and need.
Thomas G. Stroyan Memorial Scholarship
In honor of their son, Mr. & Mrs. George S. Stroyan established this scholarship in October 1963. It is awarded to junior and senior students in ceramic engineering based on scholarship, character, and need.
Stroyan was a member of the class of 1962, studying ceramic engineering when he was killed in a car accident. He was a second lieutenant in squadron A of the Corps of Cadets and was an active member of the student body, belonging to numerous campus organizations, including Sigma Gamma Epsilon, honorary earth sciences fraternity; Keramos, honorary ceramic engineering fraternity; the Cotillion Club; American Ceramic Society, among others.
Michael A. Stuback Memorial Scholarship
Established by the Student Chapter of ASM and fellow students of the metallurgical engineering class of 1965 to honor Michael A. Stuback who was killed in an accident during his senior year in 1964.  It is awarded to a junior or senior enrolled in MSE and is based on academic qualifications, character, and need, and particularly those showing leadership potential.